Lycée Edward Steichen

- International School -

The 21st Century School

Primary International Secondary International Secondary National Evening school

My future starts here...

Online presentation

Online presentation: here!

Registrations open!
We are at your disposal for any information +352 206 007-210 or via Skype.



 

The École Internationale Edward Steichen

The École internationale Edward Steichen is a state school with no fees. As an accredited European School, it is linked to the European Schools system by an accreditation agreement and offers education based on the curriculum and programmes of the European Schools. Our school programme leads to the European Baccalaureate, recognised throughout Europe for access to university and other Higher Education studies or to vocational training.


Brochure Virtual tour 360°
Primary enrolment form Secondary enrolment form
 

International school offer

Nursery (Early Education)

"Early Education" is the generic term used to denote the first two years of teaching and education in a school setting.

Classes: M1 - M2

Age: 4-5 years

Primary

The primary cycle covers five years.

 

 

Classes: P1 – P5

Age: 6-10 years

Secondary

The secondary cycle covers seven years’ teaching and is subdivided into three cycles:

Observation cycle:
Classes S1–S3, Age 11-13 years
Pre-orientation cycle:
Classes S4–S5, Age 14-16 years
Orientation cycle:
Classes S6–S7, Age 16-18 years

Classes of the European nursery and primary school are taking place in Reuler.

After-school care may be provided by the "Maison Relais Reuler".

Language sections and language teaching

The European Schools allow pupils to follow a personalised linguistic path. Pupils enrol in a specific language section. Currently the school offers three language sections: English, French and German.

 

In the first year of primary school, pupils choose a first foreign language (called Language 2) - German, English or French. The study of this Language 2 continues until the Baccalaureate and some subjects are taught in Language 2 at secondary level.

All pupils must learn a second foreign language (called Language 3) from the first year of secondary school.

From Year 4 of Secondary school, pupils have the opportunity to study a third foreign language (called Language 4).

The fourth foreign language (called Language 5) is a complementary course in years 6 and 7 of secondary school.

Detailed information on the levels of linguistic competence can be found in ourbrochure

 

Learning concept

21st century skills

21st century skills

Problem-solving skills refer to the ability to find solutions to a given problem.

This skill is about critically analysing information in order to form a judgment and opinion.

Creativity refers to the ability to use original ideas to generate something new and of a high quality, whether in arts or science.

Innovation is expressed through the capacity to draw on knowledge in different fields to offer original solutions and points of view.

This skill refers to a student’s ability to work together with other people, by recognizing their own role within a group and contributing effectively.

Character takes into account a person’s individuality, their main character traits and their reactions in everyday situations.

Media literacy refers to the ability to use media and ICTs in all their forms, while encouraging a critical stance towards their content.

Communication refers to the ability to transmit and receive information, both in written and spoken form.

Entrepreneurship involves a person’s motivation and capacitiy to turn ideas into action, often by taking on a proactive role within a group.

This skill allows a person to understand cultural differences by recognizing their own culture and accepting and valuing other cultures at the same time.


Pedagogical concept


Lycée Edward Steichen extends the concept of ICT (Information and Communication Technologies) to the notion of MIICT (Media, Images, Information and Communication Technologies). This takes into account the overlap between the all pervasive digital world and the media (press, radio, television, multimedia publishing, Web, etc.) and the widespread use of the Internet as the daily working envi- ronment. MIICT is also where ICT and critical thinking about ICT and information come together (via media education).

Our classes, as from P5, operate on a "One-to-One" principle, meaning that each pupil will have his or her own personal digital tablet (iPad) to use at school and at home. A modern curriculum strengthens young people while allowing them to use mo- bile technology as a valuable complementary learning tool.

The School bears the Future Hub label. Future Hub is a label for secondary schools that are open to technology and innovative learning in science, especially computer science.

It can happen that any child may need support at some time during their schooling. Different forms and levels of support are provided, designed to ensure appropriate help for pupils experiencing difficulties in a particular aspect of a subject or having special educational needs at any point in their school career, to allow them to develop and progress according to their potential and to be successfully integrated.

The diversity of our pupils’ cultural and linguistic backgrounds is a rich resource which fosters openness to the world. Communication is one of the keys to learning at the Lycée Edward Steichen. In parallel with developing intellectual faculties and the mind, the Lycée Edward Steichen is committed more widely to use citizenship as a means to come together and to develop social dialogue for increasing community cohesion and shared common values.

"Orientation, Awareness, Communication, Support, Information"

One period per week is reserved for activities of the OSCAR type. These activities focus on themes that are often overlooked or dealt with incidentally during traditional courses (e.g. learning to learn, 21st century skills, iPad management, addiction prevention and awareness, cyber awareness, school system, KIVA anti-bullying programme, pupil committee, etc.).


Every semester, i.e. every six months, each pupil can register for at least one 90-minute workshop per week in one of the following fi elds: art and culture, crafts, communication and media, science, sport, technology and innovation, living together. By focusing on the discovery of a wide range of active living areas, the interdisciplinary nature of our world of work, the development of 21st century skills, entrepreneurship, and project-based teaching, these workshops enable pupils to become responsible themselves for part of their academic and professional development.


Each pupil is supported by a coach. During weekly one to one interviews, the coach supports the pupil in developing his/her career plans. The coach listens to the pupil and helps him/her to build his/ her personal portfolio.


These activities include support courses and addressing gaps in learning, as well as cultural, sporting and scientific activities, and optional complementary learning activities.
The socio-educational service provides basic support outside the classroom, which is enriched by a range of teacher-run activities that assist, improve and develop further interest in learning science. Lo- cal educational providers - external to LESC - complete the school offer and create links with the wider community and region.
At the Reuler primary school site, the full day care programme and the extra-curricular and out-of-class activities are planned in close collaboration with day-care centre.

The École Edward Steichen adapts a constantly evolving guidance procedure. Its key components are:

  • Adapted interdisciplinarity (manual work, mechanics, robotics, etc ...),
  • A component which helps to organise everyday life in a meaningful way,
  • A component to support professional life,
  • A component to help prepare for student life (CV, competitions, interviews)

These guidance activities include collaboration with the world of work, such as optional and orientation internships with companies in the region and in the social sector.
These guidance activities also emphasise the partnership with the social and economic world beyond the classroom: Integrating the national and European sections within the Lycée Edward Steichen makes it possible to propose at any time the learning pathways best suited to each pupil so that he/she can succeed in his/her future professional life.

 

Social psychological support service and networks

In our school, we have a psychosocial advisory and counselling service.
--> more information about the team.

Career guidance (cellule d'orientation) offers support to students in all matters concerning career choice, apprenticeships, training and study.

Parents are cordially invited to exchange views on their children’s development with the teacher in an informal setting. This “Coffee @ LESC” takes place on the first Monday of each month from 7.30 a.m. – 9.30 a.m.

ClevermovePlus means more exercise in everyday school life. Active breaks in all subjects, multi-perspective sports lessons as well as a vast range of exercise should support the students in developing a healthy lifestyle.
>> Website

The Mérite Jeunesse is available to all 14-24 year olds and is the world’s leading youth achievement award. It equips young people for life regardless of their background, culture, physical ability, skills and interests. www.merite.jeunesse.lu
tomas.thorpe@education.lu

A group of expert-students is at the students’ disposal to help them use their iPads more effectively and efficently for academic purposes every Tuesday and Friday from 11.45 a.m. – 1.10 p.m.

A makerspace is a collaborative work space facility for making, learning, exploring and sharing that uses high tech to no tech tools.

Lycée Edward Steichen

- École internationale -

École du 21e siècle

Primaire international Secondaire international Secondaire national Cours du soir

Mon futur commence ici...

 

École internationale Edward Steichen

L´École internationale Edward Steichen est une école publique sans frais d’inscription. Il s’agit d’une École européenne agréée. Liée au système des Écoles européennes par une convention d’agrément, elle offre un enseignement fondé sur le curriculum et les programmes des Écoles européennes. La formation mène au Baccalauréat européen, reconnu partout en Europe pour l’accès aux études universitaires et tertiaires, ou donnera accès à la formation professionnelle.


Brochure
Fiche d'inscription - primaire Fiche d'inscription - secondaire
 

Offre scolaire internationale

Maternel (Early Education)

« Early Education » est le terme générique utilisé pour définir les deux premières années d’enseignement et d’éducation dans un cadre scolaire.

Clases: M1 - M2

Âge: 4-5 ans

Primaire

Le cycle primaire couvre cinq années d’enseignement.

 

 

Classes: P1 – P5

Âge: 6-10 ans

Secondaire

Le cycle secondaire couvre sept années d’enseignement et se subdivise en trois cycles:

Cycle d‘observation:
Classes S1–S3, Âge 11-13 ans
Cycle de pré-orientation:
Classes S4–S5, Âge 14-16 ans
Cycle d‘orientation:
Classes S6–S7, Âge 16-18 ans

Les cours pour les classes européennes des écoles maternelle et primaire sont offerts au centre scolaire à Reuler.

La Maison Relais de Reuler s’occupe de l’encadrement extrascolaire.

Sections linguistiques et enseignement des langues

Les Écoles européennes permettent aux élèves de suivre un parcours linguistique personnalisé. Les élèves s’inscrivent dans une section linguistique précise. Actuellement l´école offre trois sections linguistiques : anglophone, francophone et germanophone.

 

En première année de l’école primaire, les élèves choisissent une première langue étrangère (appelée Langue 2), parmi l’allemand, l’anglais ou le français. L’étude de cette Langue 2 se poursuit jusqu’au Baccalauréat et certaines matières en secondaire sont enseignées en L2.

Tous les élèves apprennent obligatoirement une deuxième langue étrangère (appelée Langue 3) à partir de la première année du secondaire.

À partir de la 4e année du secondaire, les élèves ont la possibilité d’étudier une troisième langue étrangère (appelée Langue 4).

La quatrième langue étrangère (appelée Langue 5) est un cours complémentaire en 6e et 7e année du Secondaire.

Des informations plus précises sur les niveaux de compétences linguistiques Brochure

 

Concept d‘apprentissage

Les compétences du 21e siècle

Les compétences du 21e siècle

La résolution de problèmes décrit l’aptitude à chercher des solutions à un problème donné.

Cette compétence vise à considérer toute information avec un esprit critique en la remettant systématiquement en question.

La créativité se traduit par la capacité de proposer quelque chose de nouveau et de qualité, que ce soit en arts ou en sciences.

L’innovation s’exprime par l’aptitude à combiner des savoirs afin de proposer des solutions et des points de vue originaux.

Il s’agit ici de savoir travailler avec d’autres personnes, en reconnaissant son rôle dans un groupe, et en y contribuant efficacement.

Le caractère prend en compte l’individualité de la personne et ses réactions au quotidien, ses traits de caractère les plus développés.

La littératie médiatique désigne l’aptitude à utiliser les médias et les TIC sous toutes leurs formes, tout en encourageant une posture critique face à leurs contenus.

La communication est la capacité à émettre et recevoir l’information, tant à l’oral qu’à l’écrit.

Dans le cadre d’un esprit entrepreneur, un individu s’attelle à transposer ses idées en actions concrètes, souvent par un rôle de meneur au sein d’un groupe.

Par cette compétence, l’individu se montre capable d'identifier sa propre culture tout en acceptant et valorisant celle des autres : il comprend l’importance de la différence.


Concept pédagogique


Le Lycée Edward Steichen élargit le concept de TIC (Technologies de l’Information et de la communication) à la notion de MITIC (Médias, images et technologies de l’information et de la communication). Ainsi sont prises en compte les convergences, créées par le « tout-numérique » et les médias (presse, radio, télévision, édition multimédia, Web ...) et la banalisation d’Internet comme environnement de travail quotidien. Les MITIC sont également le lieu de rapprochement entre l’informatique et la critique de l’information (éducation aux médias).

Nos classes (à partir de la P5) fonctionnent selon le principe du « One-to-One », c’est-à-dire que chaque élève aura sa tablette numérique (iPad) personnelle qu’il utilisera à l’école et à domicile. Un curriculum moderne renforce les jeunes tout en leur permettant d’utiliser la technologie mobile comme valable outil d’apprentissage complémentaire.

L’École est porteuse du label Future Hub. Le Future Hub est un label pour les lycées qui s’ouvrent aux technologies et à un apprentissage innovateur des sciences, en particulier des sciences informatiques.

La diversité des antécédents culturels et linguistiques de nos élèves constitue une richesse qui favorise l’ouverture sur le monde. La communication est l’une des clés de l’apprentissage au Lycée Edward Steichen. Conjointement au développement des facultés intellectuelles, de la culture de l’esprit, le Lycée Edward Steichen s’inscrit aussi dans une stratégie plus large de développement de l’utilisation de la culture civique comme un moyen de rencontre et de dialogue social pour parvenir à une cohésion et les valeurs riches de la société.

"Orientation, Sensibilisation, Communication, Accompagnement, Renseignements"

Une période par semaine est réservée pour des activités du type l’accent sur des thèmes souvent négligés ou traités accessoirement pendant les cours traditionnels (p.ex. apprendre à apprendre, compétences du 21e siècle, gestion de l’iPad, prévention des dépendances et sensibilisation, Cyber-awareness, système scolaire, programme anti-mobbing KIVA, comité des élèves etc.).


Semestriellement, chaque élève peut s’inscrire dans au moins une entreprise de 90 minutes par semaine dans un des domaines suivants : art et culture, artisanat, communication et médias, sciences, sport, technologies et innovation, vivre-ensemble. En mettant l’accent sur la découverte de domaines de la vie active, sur le caractère interdisciplinaire de notre monde du travail, sur le développement des compétences du 21e siècle, dont l’entrepreneuriat, et sur l’enseignement par projets, ces entreprises permettent aux élèves de prendre des responsabilités en vue de l’élaboration de leur projet scolaire et professionnel.


Chaque élève est suivi et encadré par un coach. Pendant des entretiens individuels hebdomadaires, il soutient l’élève dans l’élaboration de son projet professionnel. Le coach est à l’écoute de l’élève et l’aide à constituer son portfolio personnel.


L’encadrement comprend d’une part des cours d’appui et des mesures de remédiation, d’autre part des activités culturelles, sportives et scientifi ques ainsi que des apprentissages complémentaires facultatifs.
Le service socio-éducatif assure l’encadrement de base en dehors des cours, qui est enrichi par les activités d’aide, de perfectionnement et d’éveil aux sciences données par nos enseignants. Les acteurs locaux – externes au Lycée Edward Steichen – complètent l’offre scolaire et créent des liens avec la région. Au site de Reuler la journée continue ainsi que les activités péri- et parascolaires sont planifi ées en étroite collaboration avec la maison relais.

L’École Edward Steichen adapte la procédure d’orientation qui évolue en permanence :

  • Une interdisciplinarité adaptée (travail manuel, mécanique, robotique …) ;
  • Un volet aidant à organiser la vie quotidienne de façon sensée;
  • Un volet aidant à la vie professionnelle;
  • Un volet aidant à la préparation de la vie estudiantine (CV, concours, entretiens).

In diesem Sinne absolvieren unsere SchülerInnen zudem freiwillige Praktika und obligatorische Schnupperpraktika in Unternehmen aus der Region und im sozialen Bereich. Les mesures d’orientation proposent des activités en collaboration avec le monde du travail, notamment des stages volontaires et des stages d’orientation dans les entreprises de la région et dans le secteur social.
Les mesures d’orientation insistent également sur le partenariat avec le monde social et économique : L’intégration de fi lières nationales et européennes au sein du Lycée Edward Steichen permet de proposer à chaque moment le parcours scolaire le mieux adapté à chaque élève afi n qu’il réussisse au mieux dans sa vie professionnelle future.

 

Encadrement socio-psychologique et réseaux

Le service pour l’encadrement socio-psychologique et l’orientation scolaire travaille au sein de l’école.

Die Berufsorientierung unterstützt die Schüler bei allen Fragen zur Berufs-, Ausbildungs- und Studienwahl.

Les parents sont cordialement invités à s'échanger avec les enseignants dans un cadre informel au sujet du développement scolaire de leur enfant. Les rencontres sont organisées le premier lundi de chaque mois de 7h30 à 9h30.

Chaque mardi et vendredi de 11h45 à 13h10, des élèves donnent de leur temps à d’autres élèves pour les aider à mieux travailler avec leur iPad.

Au sein de l’école, il y a un Makerspace. Il s’agit d’un atelier de travail collaboratif afin de découvrir de nouveaux domaines scientifiques et artistiques, de faire des recherches les concernant, de travailler sous forme de projets ainsi que d’élaborer et departager des travaux en utilisant des outils informatiques et des supports différents.